Concept: Sheet Views
To define sheet views, you and your administrators can change:
- The data and metadata that the sheet displays.
- How the sheet displays the data and metadata.
You can change your sheet view to:
- Access unlocked cells, reduce the size of your sheet, and eliminate scrolling.
- Hide rows of blank data.
- See different sets of data if your administrators limited the number of rows a modeled sheet can display.
- Remove or hide data that's irrelevant to you.
3 sheet view states exist:
- Default view that administrators configure for sheets and sheets on dashboards.
- Default view that dashboard creators configure for sheets on dashboards.
- Your preferred view on sheets and sheets on dashboards.
Default View That Administrators
Configure
Administrators configure the default view for sheets. This view determines
how the sheet displays the first time any user opens a sheet or creates a sheet on dashboards.
When you view a sheet from shared dashboards, you see the default view that the dashboard
owner configures. From sheets or dashboards, you can change the view to your own personal
preferred view. You can always select Reset to Default View
to revert
to the view set by your admin. Default View That Dashboard Creators
Configure
The default view for sheets on dashboards is different from the admin's
default view of the underlying sheet. Dashboard creators can change the default view for
sheets on dashboards to fit the narrative of the dashboard. When the dashboard creator
shares or publishes the dashboard, other users start with this default view. Other users can
make changes and save their preferred view. However, anytime the dashboard owner publishes
the perspective or the dashboard, the preferred view for all users reverts to the new
published view.
Changes to the default view of sheets on dashboards and the underlying
standalone sheets don't impact each other.
Preferred Views for Users
When you change
the sheet display and save, we display this preferred view the next time you open the sheet.
You can't undo display changes; you can only change the display and save again.Changes to
the user preferred views of sheets on dashboards and the underlying standalone sheets don't
impact each other.
We automatically save display changes that you make to sheets on
dashboards. For some display changes like filtering or swapping columns and rows, we only
save when you either:
- Change dimensions in cube sheets.
- Change display options.
- Save data entries.
When your dashboard owner publishes a perspective, all user preferred views revert to
the dashboard default view.