Skip to main content
Adaptive Planning
Last Updated: 2023-06-23
Add or Change Account Formulas and Overrides

Add or Change Account Formulas and Overrides

Account formulas calculate data across versions and levels and prevent user errors. Formula overrides enable you to change the calculations in specific versions. Data entry overrides enable you to enter or import data in specific versions.
When you lock a version, the existing formula becomes an override formula. This enables you to update the formulas without affecting the data in the locked version.
You can also import changes to account formulas. See Import and Export Accounts.

Security:
Model
permission.

Navigation

Add Default Formula

  1. Select Modeling from the main menu.
  2. From the Accounts menu, click 1 of these:
    • General Ledger Accounts
      .
    • Custom Accounts
      .
    • Metric Accounts
      .
    • Assumptions
      .
  3. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account or system account.
  4. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  5. If the
    Formula
    or
    Default Formula
    text box is blank, enter a formula. If it isn't blank, the version already has a default formula. You can edit the formula or create an override for selected versions.
  6. (Optional) Leave the
    Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting
    check box unchecked if you plan to preserve data in any existing versions.
  7. Save the settings. When prompted, click:
    • Preserve
      to save all shared formulas and data in all existing versions. This automatically creates
      Data Entry
      overrides for existing versions. To apply the default formula to versions, use the
      Formula Version Selector
      prompt to revert to the default formula for specific versions.
    • Replace
      removes all data and shared formulas in all versions, including locked versions.

Change Default Formulas

Changing the default formula changes data in versions using the default formula. It does not change data in locked versions or versions with overrides.
  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  3. From the
    Formula Version Selector
    prompt, choose a version that has
    None
    for the
    Override Formula Setting
    .
    None
    indicates that the version uses the default.
  4. Edit the formula and save.
If the
Override Formula Setting
is
Override Formula
, click
None
to view the default formula. However, if you change the default formula from here, you delete the override for the version.
For general ledger and custom accounts, the
Default Formula
text box may be blank. This means the account is a standard input account. After you enter the formula and save, you can choose to preserve or replace existing data.

Delete Default Formulas

Deleting default formulas deletes all calculated data for the account in all versions. This excludes archived versions, but includes locked versions and versions with existing override formulas. We preserve data in all versions with a data entry override.
You can delete formulas of general ledger and custom accounts. For metric, cube calculated, and modeled calculated accounts, you must delete the entire account to delete the formulas.
To delete the default formula in general ledger and custom accounts:
  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  3. From the
    Override Formula Setting
    , choose
    None
    .
  4. Delete the formula in the
    Formula
    or
    Default Formula
    text box and save.

Add and Change Formula Overrides

You can override the default formula with another formula or with data entry.
The data entry option isn't available for:
  • Merged cube sheets.
  • Modeled accounts.
  • Metric accounts.
Adding override formulas changes the data in the selected version. Adding the data entry override removes data in the selected version. This enables you to enter data in sheets, or import data. Adding data entry overrides doesn't affect data in:
  • Locked versions.
  • Other versions with overrides.
  • Versions using the default formula.
To add an override:
  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  3. If necessary, uncheck
    Disable Version-Specific Formula Settings
    . Click
    Save
    to activate the override settings.
  4. From the
    Formula Version Selector
    , click an unlocked version.
  5. From the
    Override Formula Setting
    prompt, click:
    • Override Formula
      to create a new formula for the selected version. If it's already selected, the version already has an override that you can change. If you delete the override formula, the account reverts to the default formula.
    • Data Entry
      to unlock the account in sheets.
Data Entry
is not available for calculated accounts in merged cube sheets and modeled sheets, or metric accounts.

Revert to Default Formula

Reverting to the default formula, changes data for the selected version. It doesn't affect data in:
  • Locked versions.
  • Other versions with overrides.
  • Version using the default.
To remove overrides from a version:
  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  3. From the
    Formula Version Selector
    , click a version with an override. The
    Override Formula Setting
    is
    Override Formula
    or
    Data Entry
    .
  4. From the
    Override Formula Setting
    prompt, click
    None
    and save.

Remove Overrides from All Versions

Removing all overrides from all versions changes the data in any version with an override, including locked versions. It doesn't change data in versions already using the default formula or in archived versions.
To remove all the overrides of an account:
  1. From the account list, click any account that isn't a rollup account.
  2. In the settings, find the
    Data Type
    section.
  3. Click the check box for
    Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting
    . Checking this check box:
    • Reverts the account to the default formula for all versions, including locked versions.
    • Prevents users from creating overrides for the account.
    • Removes automatic protection of the account for current and future locked versions.

Import Data into Calculated Accounts with Data Entry Option

For calculated accounts with the
Data Entry
override, use the manual spreadsheet import. You can't use the:
  • importStandardData API
  • Design Integrations data loaders

Activate Locked Formula Override Settings

Read-only or Locked Setting
Reason
Formula
or
Default Formula
Unlock the version you selected from
Version Formula Selector
prompt. See Lock or Hide Versions.
Version Formula Selector
and
Formula Override Setting
Uncheck the
Disable Version-Specific Formula Setting
.
Data Entry
text box in place of
Formula
or
Default Formula
text box.
The selected version has a data entry override. You can't enter any data or formula in the text box. To change, select
Formula Override
or
None
from the
Formula Override Setting
.