Concept: Managing Workbooks
Use these primary actions to manage workbooks. For more details, select from any workbook.
Action | Description |
|---|---|
Create an empty workbook | From Drive, select . |
Import (upload and convert) a file to create a workbook | From Drive, select . You can upload an Excel file or any file that uses:
When you upload one of these file types, Worksheets automatically converts it into a
workbook. Notes on uploading and converting :
|
Copy a workbook | From Drive, select the workbook and click Make a
Copy .If the copied workbook is based on live data, you initially see the same data as the
workbook owner based on their permission level, but as soon as you
refresh live data in the workbook you see only the data that you have
access to. If you don't have access to one or more data source fields,
an error occurs when you refresh live data. |
Download workbooks | From the workbook, select and select the file type to create. Tenant settings determine whether mobile app users can download workbooks. Notes on downloading :
|
Remove (move to Trash) a workbook | From Drive, select the workbook and then click Remove . The workbook
moves to the Trash view, but it isn't permanently deleted.Worksheets removes access for all users, and the workbook no longer displays in Drive
except for the owner's Trash view. If an integrating application such as Projects or Payroll automatically created a workbook,
you can remove the workbook only if you disable the entry area first.
Some integrating applications refer to disabling the entry area as
locking. If you remove a workbook that someone shared with you, you remove yourself from the list of
shared users. The workbook disappears from Drive and it doesn't display
in the Trash view. After removing a workbook, you can restore it only if you are the person who created
it. |
Restore workbooks from Trash | From Drive, select Trash . Select the workbooks and then click
Restore .You can restore a workbook only if you are the person who created it. |
Permanently delete workbooks | Drive administrators can permanently delete up to 1000 workbooks at one time by
accessing the Drive Permanent File Delete task. |