Reference: Folder Actions in Drive Based on Permissions
This table summarizes the actions available for folders based on the user permission
level.
You specify permission levels when you share a folder.
Action | Can View | Can Comment | Can Edit | Owner | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
View folder content | X | X | X | X | |
View folder information | X | X | X | X | |
Comment on workbooks in a shared folder | X | X | X | To change a user's permission setting for a file, update the setting in
the individual file. | |
Copy shared file in shared folder | X | X | X | X | If the file is in a shared folder, by default the copy displays in the same location
in the folder hierarchy as the file you're copying. If you're sharing an
individual file that's not in a shared folder, by default the copy displays
in your Drive Home view. |
View list of users that you shared the folder with | X | X | X | X | |
Remove (self) from shared folder access | X | X | X | You can remove your access only at the level where someone gave it to
you - the root access - not at an inherited access level. | |
Create subfolder in a shared folder | X | X | |||
Create or upload files in a shared folder | X | X | Shares all added items with all users who have view or edit permission
for the folder. | ||
Share folder with specific individuals Share folder with groups (if enabled by administrator) | X | X | Link sharing isn't available for folders. | ||
Unshare with contributors | X | X | If the file that you unshare is in a folder, after you unshare the file
it regains any access permissions that it inherits from the
folder. | ||
Change a contributor's permission setting | X | X | |||
Share subfolder in a shared folder | X | X | |||
Reshare folder | X | X | |||
Give folder access to users or groups | X | X | |||
Change permission level of contributors | X | X | |||
Unshare with a user or group | X | X | Removes all access and permission. | ||
Rename folder | X | X | |||
Move file or folder to a different folder | X | X | The ability to do this action depends on:
| ||
Rename folder | X | X | |||
Transfer ownership of individual folder | X | Share the folder first, then you can transfer ownership to that person.
Some products that integrate with Drive don't allow ownership
transfers. | |||
Transfer ownership of up to 1,000 items, which can be contained in
folders | Administrator only | ||||
Change owner setting for Viewers and commenters can copy,
download, and print
| X | ||||
Change owner setting for Editors can
share
| X | Owners can change this setting for shared files that aren't in shared
folders. | |||
Remove folder to the trash | X | Removing a folder removes any sharing permissions. | |||
Restore folder or file from the trash | X | Restoring a folder doesn't restore sharing settings. | |||
Upload folders (not supported) | Drive doesn't support uploading folders or folder hierarchies, such as
from Cyberduck. |