Skip to main content
Adaptive Planning
Last Updated: 2023-06-23
Create Personal Scenarios

Create Personal Scenarios

Security:
Scenarios enable you to draft changes to versions before you commit them to the working version. Scenarios are based on existing versions, which we call base versions. You can later merge your changes into the base version when you’re ready. Only you can review that data in your scenarios from sheets, reports, and dashboards.
Once you create the scenario, only you can select it from any version selector in sheets, reports, and dashboards. Scenarios have a distinct icon that differentiates them from other plan versions.
After you update the data in scenarios, we highlight data in the scenario that differs from the base version from your sheet view. You can create web reports, OfficeConnect reports, and dashboards to analyze your scenario against other versions, including the base version.
Duplicate scenarios start with all the same data as the original scenario. You can make changes to either the original or the duplicate scenario without affecting the other.
  1. Select
    Scenarios
    from the main menu.
  2. Click
    Add New
    .
    Or hover over an existing scenario. Click the 3 dots that display and select
    Duplicate
    .
  3. As you complete the task, consider:
    Option Description
    Base Version
    Select the plan version. The scenario starts with the base version data until you change the data. Later, when you merge the scenario, you update the base version with the data in your scenario.
    You can’t select virtual versions or actuals or versions with the Calculate Formulas Values option enabled.
    When you're duplicating a scenario, this option doesn't display because you can't change the base version.
    Scenario Name
    Enter a unique name that doesn’t match any scenarios for the same base version. Maximum: 64 characters.    
    Description
    Maximum: 2,048 characters.
  4. Click
    Create
    .
The scenario name displays in the scenario list. It also displays in the version prompt, nested under the base version for you only.
  1. Make changes to the data in sheets.
  2. (Optional) Build reports and charts to analyze your changes.
  3. (Optional) Merge Personal Scenarios into Base Versions. Merging updates the base version with the changes you made in the scenario and deletes the scenario.