Concept: Managing Docs Templates
This table summarizes the primary actions you do when managing Docs templates.
Action | Notes |
|---|---|
Create a Docs template |
Notes:
|
Copy a template | From Drive, select the Docs template and click Make a
Copy . |
Migrate a Docs template from 1 tenant to another | |
Share a Docs template with unspecified users, using a link (URL) | Share with many users at once by giving them a link, which you generate
in the Share dialog.
For more information about sharing, see the Drive User Guide. |
Share a Docs template with specific users | Sharing with individual users enables you to set a specific permission
level for the person; these settings remain active if you turn off link
sharing.
When you share a Docs template with an individual user, the user
receives a Workday notification and (if enabled on the tenant) an email.
The user receives the notification whether or not they have access to
the Drive domain, but they must have Drive domain and Docs domain access
to open the template. For more information about sharing, see the Drive
User Guide. |
Share a Docs template with security groups | Sharing with a group of users enables you to set a specific permission
level for the group; these settings remain active if you turn off link
sharing. The ability to use group sharing is a system setting for each
Drive item type. If you don't see the option, check with your
administrator to ensure that it's enabled.
|
Preserve a previous version of the Docs template | Copy the Docs template or download it in the DWXF file format if you want
to preserve the current version of data or content, before updating
it. |
Remove a Docs template | From Drive, select the Docs template and click Remove . Drive moves
the file to the trash.Important : Business processes continue to use removed Docs
templates. Additionally, removed Docs templates continue to be
selectable in the Configure Generate Document list. Before removing a
Docs template, make sure you removed it from any business processes it's
configured to. We recommend renaming the template after removing it,
adding an indicator to the name that reminds you not to use it. |
Recover a Docs template from the trash | From Drive, select Trash . Select the Docs template
and then click Restore . Workday places restored
file in the All Files view. If you select to remove a Docs template that was shared with you but
you're not the owner, you remove your access to the template. The Docs
template disappears from the Drive file list and it doesn't display in
the trash. |
Permanently delete a Docs template | Access the
Drive Permanent File Delete
task.
Before you can permanently delete a Docs template, you must remove it
from any business process it's attached to. It's not possible to
permanently delete a Docs template that is, or has ever been ,
configured to a business process. |
Manage templates in different languages | Templates in different languages need to be created and managed independently, and
configured in the business process accordingly. Workday Docs doesn't support
the concept of a translate instance as with traditional Docs templates and
text blocks. |