Skip to main content
Administrator Guide
Last Updated: 2024-02-09
Concept: Support for Local Time Zones

Concept: Support for Local Time Zones

Overview of Local Time Zone Support

You can configure a local time zone for your tenant, locations, and individual users to support operations in multiple locations with different time zones. Workday ensures that data is accurate in reference to the current time at a user location.
Workday supports all IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority) time zones and enables you to configure preferred time zones.
When you don't configure a local time zone, Workday sets the local time zone for every tenant, location, and user to Pacific Standard Time.

Configuring Local Time Zones

You can configure local time zones at these levels:
  • Set Tenant Time Zone (default setting is Pacific time zone).
  • Set a Location Time Zone (default setting is the tenant time zone).
  • Set a User's Time Zone (default setting is the time zone of the user's associated location). Users can't typically adjust their local time zone. Unless you configure your tenant otherwise, only users with administrative roles can set a user's local time zone.
Use the
Configure Preferred Time Zones
task to configure the time zones that Workday displays in the time zone prompts for your tenant. See Reference: Edit Tenant Setup - System.
Key points concerning the use of local time zones:
  • To ensure that initiation and event dates properly reflect employees' local dates, administrators should adopt the time zone of the affected population when running batch processes.
  • The time zone labels include offsets from standard Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). During Daylight Saving Time (DST), Workday doesn't adjust the offsets, but adjusts the time accurately to reflect DST.
  • In Workday, you can set user account deactivation to occur at a precise time.
    • When accessing the
      Edit Workday Account
      task, Workday displays the time in the time zone of the user performing the task.
    • The worker's time zone can be set by default when automating account deactivation with the
      Terminate Workday Account
      business process service.