Skip to main content
Peakon
Last Updated: 2023-06-23
Concept: Removing an Employee

Concept: Removing an Employee

This topic is based on the recommendations of Workday on how to manage users in the platform. Refer to your internal policies and processes for managing users in Peakon.
Gaining insights from leavers is vital in attempting to mitigate contributing factors leading to employee attrition. The separation attributes enable you to manage employee separation from the organization.
You can set the
Separation date
as a date that is in the past or the future. If the date is in the future, the employee will be able to continue receiving surveys, and using their dashboard until the separation date is in the past. After the separation date is in the past, the employee will no longer be able to use Peakon. Their employee record will delete in accordance with the time limit you set on the
Automatic deletion of former employees
setting. Until deletion, you can view the employee record of a leaver by using the
Employment Status
filter in
Administration
Employees
.

Score Aggregation

Employees that have left are no longer part of subsequent surveys. To protect the confidentiality of leavers, their latest scores and participation leaves the dashboard gradually.
During each survey round, the system consults the separation dates of leavers and checks whether they are within the
Inclusion of former employees
window. Once the separation date is outside this window, the employee no longer contributes to the current score of the segment and isn't visible in the participation list.
Historical scores of the leaver remain in the dashboard, and old survey round dashboards don’t change when an employee leaves. The score aggregation process doesn’t affect comments, so they’ll remain in the account until account deletion.
Employees that you delete follow the same process, using the deletion date instead of separation date.

Configuration

You can update the
Separation date
field just like any other information on an employee record. You can update separation dates directly on employee records, through a data upload, or through an integration sync.

Recommendation

Configure separation dates before a survey round begins, to avoid leavers contributing to the participation list for that specific round.

Delete Employees

It's possible to delete employees manually, as well as automatically by setting a threshold for the number of days past separation dates. You can find this setting in the
Account
settings within
Administration
.
There's a safeguard that prevents immediate deletion of recently changed employees from the last 7 days. Example: If you set an employee's separation date to a date that's already past the deletion day threshold. This gives administrators the chance to correct any incorrectly assigned separation dates.
When deleting employees manually, you can delete 1 or more employees and all their data from Peakon.
It's important to note that, when you delete employee profiles, it's not possible to undo the deletion and retrieve the deleted data.
If you delete an employee who is also a manager, then you’ll also lose all the segments and segment data associated with that manager. Type the word
DELETE
into the confirmation box when deleting an employee. This step helps prevent the loss of employee data through errors. This confirmation is language-specific. Example: Type
DELETE
if your selected language is English. Type
EFFACER
if your selected language is French.
Before you select
Delete
, it's also important to check whether you’re working in a Production or Staging environment.