Concept: Deleting Prism Data
You create tables, datasets, and Prism data sources filled with data. However, there might be
times when you need to remove data from your tenant.
You can remove data and Prism objects:
Action | Notes |
|---|---|
Make the Prism data source inactive. | When a Prism data source is inactive, it exists in the tenant, but is empty and
unavailable for querying in reports and discovery board visualizations. You
might want to make a Prism data source inactive if the data source contains
incorrect data and you don’t want analysts creating reports using the bad
data. You can make a Prism data source inactive whether or not any reports
or visualizations use it. How you make a Prism data source inactive
depends on the object type it's based on:
|
Delete the Prism data source including all data in it. | You can only remove a Prism data source when no reports or vizzes currently use the
associated Prism data source. How you remove a Prism data source depends on
the object type it's based on:
|
Remove all data from a dataset (truncate). | You can remove the data in a base dataset by truncating the dataset. Truncating a
dataset removes all data from the dataset. However, the dataset retains its
metadata, such as schema and transformations. You might want to truncate a
dataset if the dataset integration uses Append mode and after several
integrations the dataset contains some bad data. If you've previously
published this dataset or a derived dataset based on this dataset, then the
associated Prism data source still contains data. If you also want to remove
the data from the associated Prism data source, then you must publish the
dataset again. Publishing a truncated dataset makes the associated Prism
data source empty, but active. |
Delete a dataset. | When you delete a dataset, Workday removes the dataset definition from the Data Catalog
and removes the source data stored on disk in your tenant. You might want to
delete a dataset to make more space available to store data in your Data
Catalog. You can only delete a dataset if it's not currently published and
isn't imported into any derived dataset. Right-click a dataset from the
Data Catalog and select
Delete . |
Delete rows from a table. | You can delete 1, multiple, or all rows from a table. When you delete rows from a
table, the table remains in the Data Catalog. |
Truncate a table. | When you truncate a table, Workday removes all rows from the table, and keeps the empty
table in the Data Catalog. If you selected the Enable for Analysis option for
this table, then truncating the table also removes all data from the
associated Prism data source. The Prism data source is empty, but
active. |
Delete a table. | When you delete a table, Workday removes the table definition from the Data Catalog,
including all data contained in it. You can only delete a table when:
Data Catalog and
select Delete . |